SuperGP finale at Red Star

📁 Latest News, Slider Articles 🕔18.September 2017
SuperGP finale at Red Star

The 2017 SuperGP Champions Trophy reaches its conclusion at Red Star Raceway, outside Delmas, on Saturday, 23 September. While Clint Seller (MiWay Yamaha Racing R1) regained the title he won in 2014 and 2015 at the penultimate round at Phakisa, and Greg Gildenhuys (Autohaus Towing / Kawasaki ZX10R) made sure of second place in the 2017 SuperGP championship, the fight of the final podium step will go down to the wire.

Michael White (Consortium Shipping Yamaha R1) holds the spot at the moment but David McFadden (Sandton Auto BMW Motorrad S1000RR) and AJ Venter (Lekka Racing Team Hygenica Yamaha R1) are very close behind. Despite a poor outing at Phakisa, veteran Lance Issacs (Supabets / Sandton BMW Motorrad S1000RR) is also in with a chance.

The SuperGP title may have been decided but the SuperMasters championship could go to any one of three riders. Johnny Krieger (Lekka Racing Team Hygenica Yamaha R1) and Heinrich Rheeder (BMW Motorrad Rheeder Racing S1000RR) are tied at the top of the log with Beau Levey (Motos Blu Cru Yamaha R1) just four points back in third place. The fight for the race wins, and with them the title, will be one to watch at Red Star.

Steven Odendaal (Petra Yamaha R6) leads the Super600 title race but he won’t be at Red Star, he has a wildcard ride in Moto2 at Aragon that weekend.  Blaze Baker (Uncle Andy Racing Suzuki GSXR600) is the only rider that can prevent Odendaal claiming another championship, but he will need to win both races at Red Star to overcome the 47-point deficit he has. Hayden Jonas (MiWay Yamaha R6) is a further 3 points back in third. While Baker and Jonas are likely to be at the front of the field, they won’t have things all their own way. Both Jesse Boshoff (Phoenix Payroll Systems Kawasaki ZX6) and Malcolm Rudman (Montclair Motorcycles Kawasaki ZX6) has podium finishes when the series last visited Red Star back in June. Aiden Liebenberg (Fercor Construction / Shop #74 Kawasaki ZX6) and Byron Bester (Hi-Tech Elements / Grange Workwear Kawasaki ZX6) are also capable of mixing it with the front runners.

The 2017 SuperJunior title will almost certainly go the way of Taric van der Merwe (Evolve Nutrition KTM390) or Ricardo Otto (Otto Racing / Inex Construction KTM390). Van der Merwe hold the advantage heading for Red Star – he has a 16-point advantage over Otto. Tyreece Robert (Uncle Andy Racing KTM390) is in third but just too far back to mount a serious challenge for the 2017 title.

The national classes will be supported by a full program of regional events, with the riders there also competing in the final round of their respective championships.

As usual, practice and qualifying take place on Friday with a full day of racing for both the national and regional classes on Saturday.

Share this article with friends

Similar Articles

New champions crowned at Phakisa

New champions crowned at Phakisa

Blaze Baker (King Price Extreme/BikeFin Yamaha R6) went to Phakisa Freeway for the final round of the 2018 SuperGP Champions

Read More
Keep upto date Register Now