SuperGP categories re-unite at Red Star

📁 Latest News, Slider Articles 🕔05.June 2017
SuperGP categories re-unite at Red Star

After the litre class raced on their own at Kyalami last time out, all the DEOD SuperGP Champions Trophy categories will be on track at Red Star Raceway for the next round of the 2017 championship on Saturday, 10 June.

At Kyalami Clint Seller (MiWay Yamaha R1) took a hard-fought win in the first race and completely dominated the second to extend his championship lead. While the former champion doesn’t have happy memories of last year’s visits to Red Star – he did not score a single point at either visit to the Mpumalanga circuit – he will certainly put those behind him as he looks to build on his advantage.

Greg Gildenhuys (Autohaus Towing / Kawasaki ZX10R) left Kyalami with two podium finishes and is in second on the championship log. He is the only rider to have beaten Seller in a race this season and will be looking to repeat that feat on Saturday. He leads Lance Isaacs (Supabets / Sandton BMW Motorrad S1000RR) who came back from a spectacular first race crash to take second at Kyalami and will be looking to take that form through to Red Star.

David McFadden (RPM Centre / Sandton Auto BMW S1000RR) is just point further back in fourth ahead of a three-way fight for fifth between AJ Venter (Lekka Racing Team Hygenica Yamaha R1), Michael White (Consortium Shipping Yamaha R1) and Brandon Goode (Linex Yamaha R1), the three of them separated by just 3 points.

A tyre problem in the opening race at Kyalami spoilt Hendrik de Bruin’s (Yamaha R1) perfect record of SuperMasters podium finishes in 2017. Although he came back with another podium in the second race it wasn’t enough to prevent Heinrich Rheeder (BMW Motorrad / Rheeder Racing BMW S1000RR), who took both wins last time out, from taking over at the top of the table. Third place is being fought over by Justin Gillesen (Supabets / Sandton BMW Motorrad S1000RR) and Johnny Krieger (Lekka Racing Team Hygenica Yamaha R1), who both had podium finishes at Kyalami, and Beau Levey (Moto Blu Cru Yamaha R1).

Hayden Jonas had his first outing with the MiWay Yamaha Racing team at Zwartkops, and while he couldn’t stop Steven Odendaal (Petra Yamaha Racing R6) taking the win in the only race that was run before racing was abandoned, he did extend his lead at the top of the championship log. Odendaal is in second place with Blaze Baker (Uncle Andy Racing Suzuki GSXR600) just a point ahead of 2016 SuperJunior champion Aiden Liebenberg (Shop #74 / Fercor Construction Kawasaki ZX6). Jesse Boshoff (Phoenix Payroll Systems Kawasaki ZX6) and Dino Iozzo (MiWay Yamaha Racing R6) round out the top six.

Another win for Taric van der Merwe at Zwartkops on the Evolve Nutrition KTM390 has moved him 20 points clear of his closest rival in the SuperJunior championship hunt. Ricardo Otto (Otto Racing / Inex Construction KTM390) leads the chasing pack closely followed by Tyreece Robert (KTM390). Sam Lochoff (Samurai Racing KTM390) is in fourth place despite a difficult outing last time out. Luca Coccioni (RAD KTM390) and Jason Linaker (Samurai Racing KTM390) complete the top six.

The national classes will be supported by a full program of regional classes. As usual, practice and qualifying take place on Friday with two races for each category on Saturday. Spectators who arrive before 10h00 on Saturday morning with a donation of tinned food will be granted free entry to Red Star Raceway. All the food collected will be donated to a deserving charity close to the circuit.

For those that can’t make it to Red Star the event will be live streamed on

Share this article with friends

Similar Articles

Keep upto date Register Now