Clint Seller Wins the 2017 SuperGP Championship and his 5th SA Superbike title

📁 Team Media Releases 🕔07.September 2017
Clint Seller Wins the 2017 SuperGP Championship and his 5th SA Superbike title

It didn’t come as a surprise to anyone that Clint Seller with still one round to go, secured his 5th South African Motorcycle championship on the Anassis Racing prepared MiWay Yamaha R1 at the penultimate round of the Super-GP Champions Trophy at Phakisa Freeway last weekend. The style in which he claimed his 2017 title merely underlined his form of the season and the supremacy of Anassis Racing team in the premier class.

Qualifying SuperGP: Clint Seller rose above himself and pulled out an unthinkable lap of 1:35,754 with an average speed of 159,4 km/h around the 4,2km track. Clint was ecstatic with his pole position time and realized that it was the quickest time ever around the track on a SuperGP 1000cc production race bike. Adolf Boshoff who made his debut on the 1000cc was hindered by a failing timing system and without a back-up in place, he saw his qualifying going up in smoke. And ended in P8.

Race 1 SuperGP: Only in the first 1,5 km of the 15 laps race Seller wasn’t leading after which he took full control over the opening heat and took victory one of the day. “It wasn’t as easy as it might have looked Seller explained after the race. My tyres were gone in the early part of the race and it was impossible to shake off my competition.” His victory brought his lead to 52 points and finishing ahead of his main rival would see him clinch his 5th title in the next race.

Race 2 SuperGP: Clint Seller didn’t show any signs of pressure at the start and was fully focussed to make his 100th race for Anassis Racing count. With new rubber mounted Seller did his magic and stamped his trademark on the second race by leading from start to finish and secured his 2017 SuperGP title and his 5th South African Motorcycle racing crown. With his 60th victory for the team the celebrations started already when he was still doing his parade lap to thank the crowd. Upon arrival the Anassis Racing crew were wearing the traditional championship shirt and Seller
quickly joined the festivities.

Race 1 Super600: Hayden Jonas did the most he could do in the opening race. After a slight hiccup at the start he quickly regained his second position and realized that the leader had vanished in the distance. Dino Iozzo settled into a great rhythm and a lonely race brought him P9 when the finish flag dropped.

Race 2 Super600: The second race was very much a repeat of the opening round with Hayden Jonas unable to hang on to the race leader and thereby lost the last hopes on the title. Jonas managed another P2 and has a good chance on securing P2 in the overall standings at the end of the year. Dino had a good race and managed to climb up the ranks to P7 and was content with his first national at Phakisa Freeway.

Qualifying Super600: Hayden Jonas (MiWay Yamaha R6) arrived in the Free State with only a small mathematical chance to remain in the title race for the next round and only double wins would have kept his hopes alive. A second position on the grid was the best feasible for the Capetonian with Dino Iozzo doing a great job in his first season with a P9.

“Clint has been a dominating force in the sport since he joined our team, but we’ve never seen Seller as composed has he was this year. The year isn’t over but I can already say that this was his most convincing title in his career and is simple unstoppable, Brad Anassis explained after the race. “Adolf Boshoff did a great job today and finished both his race which was our main goal to give the future champion time to get used to the 1000cc.”

“I want to take the opportunity to thank the whole team for their endless effort to make it all happen. The crew has worked tirelessly to give the best possible bike to the riders. The investments that I’ve done throughout the year in the team has created more opportunities and it is paying off already, Brad concluded.”

Race Results:

Super600 Race 1

1. Steven Odendaal – Yamaha R6
2. Hayden Jonas – MiWay Yamaha Racing R6
3. Aiden Liebenberg – Kawasaki ZX6R
9. Dino Iozzo – MiWay Racing Yamaha R6

Super600 Race 2

1. Steven Odendaal – Yamaha R6
2. Hayden Jonas – MiWay Yamaha Racing R6
3. Blaze Baker – GSXR600
7. Dino Iozzo – MiWay Racing Yamaha R6

SuperGP Race 1

1. Clint Seller – MiWay Racing Yamaha R1
2. Greg Gildenhuys – ZX10
3. Michael White – Yamaha R1

SuperGP Race 2

1. Clint Seller – MiWay Racing Yamaha R1
2. Greg Gildenhuys – ZX10
3. David McFadden – S100RR

A big thank you to our team sponsors and partners: MiWay,, Yamaha, Portable Shade, Sun International, Anassis Racing, MP Custom Valve and Suspension, Race!, Air Age Engineering, Motul, Neolife, Ohlins, Sanrose Auto body, Woolich Racing, Moto Moto Diner, Elite Energy by Twizza, Cobalt Engineering, Samco and Alain from Club House.

Share this article with friends

Similar Articles

Keep upto date Register Now